Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: On this day, she's not topless, Phlsdelphia, USA  (Read 3518 times)

Offline Danee

• Read-Only
  • Broke the fourth wall
  • Referrals: 135
On this day, she's not topless, Phlsdelphia, USA
« on: June 12, 2013, 12:21:04 am »

OSTED: June 10, 2013
Today on PhillyDailyNews.com:See a full photo slide show of Moira Johnston walking around Center City topless.

NO ONE IS STARING at the activist for toplessness who sits on a brown leather bench inside the Philadelphia Museum of Art, her eyes affixed to the repeating patterns and undulating lines on the wall.

That's because Moira Johnston is wearing a shirt.

It's Sunday, the final day of the museum's Outsider Art exhibit, and in her headphones a narrator describes how the self-taught artist Ramon Martinez spent most of his life in mental institutions: Ramirez created his works under exceptional circumstances.

Johnston, 30, a Haverford High grad, lives in upstate New York and teaches yoga. It was yoga, she says, that made her decide one day to take her top off, and she's been doing it regularly since - including last week in Rittenhouse Square - to dispel the mystique of mammaries.

"I've been an artist's model and a topless dancer," she says. "That's why it's never been an issue for me."

Johnston shares the museum bench with Danny Hain, a Philly hostel manager, and it looks like a date: a small kiss on the cheek, whispers in the ears and, every now and then, fingers intertwined down by their sides. He sees a drawing of a bluebird and quotes poet Charles Bukowski: "There's a bluebird in my heart."

"This would look great in the hostel," she says as they stand to examine a Mississippi-born barber's work.

Together they admire the homespun art of eccentric people who bent corrugated metal into fanciful window shades to keep out the spirits or hoped to fend off sickness with wires and string.