Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Life modeling - a review  (Read 2592 times)

simonalexander2005

Life modeling - a review
« on: November 26, 2009, 08:17:37 pm »
Hey all :)

I found this, and thought it was a very well written piece on life modelling:

http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/discussion/life-modelling/296794/

Advantages: very mentally relaxing, frees you of society's rules and taboos, makes you look at your body differently

Disadvantages: cold in winter!!, makes you ache sometimes

I live a secret double life. In the daytime I'm a respectable professional holding down a responsible job. But come September when the nights draw in and the night school classes start again I undergo a strange transformation....and enter a world that is considered most unrespectable by some.

I work as a life model. Basically this means that I sit very still like a human bowl of fruit while students, and sometimes professional artists paint me. The only catch is, I do this completely naked.

Many people are absolutely horrified when they hear this. I can relate to their shock but it does annoy me. Later however, their shock often turns to intrigue and they can't stop asking questions! So in an attempt to demystify this more unusual 'hobby' I've gathered together some of these into my own Life Modelling FAQs. Enjoy :-)

1) WHY DO YOU DO IT
well, firstly I'm not an exhibitionist or a pervert or an attention-seeker :-) I'm a naturist and only wear clothes when absolutely necessary. I am not ashamed of my body and feel very much at home in it. I read an article in a magazine about life modelling and got hooked on the idea.

Drawing the human body is one of the most difficult things an artist can do. I love the feeling that I am helping them to develop their skills.